Keynote – Azure Saturday Cologne 2019

The keynote speech in the year 2019 will be held by Prof. Dominik Bösl with

 

Disruption can’t be planned! – Of robots, flying cars and digital solutions.

Today we live in the Antropocene – the “man-made age” – in which technology permeates, changes and hopefully enriches all aspects of our world. Digitalization is in full swing and we can already see the next disruption on the horizon: the automation of the world. Robotics, artificial intelligence and automation technology will influence and change the world in the next half century at least as much as the Internet and computer technology have done in the last 50 years. Our grandchildren will grow up as the first generation R of Robotic Natives in their daily interaction with increasingly autonomous cars, collaborative robots and intelligent (software) systems. In contrast to us Robotic Immigrants with a still very analogue migration background, they will not be afraid of technologization. In order to make this progress sustainable and responsible, we need governance frameworks for better (self-)regulation and a public discourse on the use of technology.

 

Institution/Company: Festo AG & Co. KG

Current Function: Head of Project Unit Robotics

Dominik Bösl is a computer scientist, futurologist, innovator, manager (Head of Robotics at Festo AG), professor (at the Hochschule der Bayerischen Wirtschaft), philosopher (focus on technology ethics), author, volunteer (founder of the Robotic & AI Governance Foundation, chair of the IEEE TechEthics Initiative, vice president for industrial activities of the IEEE Robotics and Automation Society, …), geek and father.

His career began at Siemens in 1999, led him to Microsoft for seven years, then eight years in technology and innovation management at KUKA, and finally to Festo AG in January 2019, where he is responsible for the Robotics division. At the same time, he teaches at various colleges and universities and holds a professorship at HDBW for Digital Sciences, Automation and Leadership.

Leave a Comment

Keynote – Azure Saturday Cologne 2019

 

Die Keynote im Jahr 2019 wird gehalten von Prof. Dominik Bösl mit 

 Disruption kann man nicht planen! – Von Robotern, fliegenden Autos und digitalen Lösungen

 

 

Disruption kann man nicht planen! – Von Robotern, fliegenden Autos und digitalen Lösungen

Wir leben heute im Antropozän – dem „Menschgemachten Zeitalter“ – in dem Technologie alle Aspekte unserer Lebenswelt durchdringt, verändert und hoffentlich auch bereichert. Die Digitalisierung ist im vollen Gange und wir können bereits die nächste Disruption am Horizont erkennen: die Automatisierung der Welt. Robotik, künstliche Intelligenz und Automatisierungstechnik werden die Welt im nächsten halben Jahrhundert mindestens so sehr beeinflussen und verändern, wie es das Internet und Computertechnologie in den letzten 50 Jahren haben. Unsere Enkelkinder werden als erste Generation R von Robotic Natives im täglichen Umgang mit immer autonomeren Autos, kollaborativen Robotern und intelligenten (Software) Systemen aufwachsen. Sie werden im Gegensatz zu uns Robotic Immigrants mit noch sehr analogem Migrationshintergrund keine Angst vor der Technologisierung haben. Um diesen Fortschritt nachhaltig und verantwortungsvoll zu gestalten, brauchen wir Governance Frameworks zur besseren (Selbst-)Regulierung sowie einen öffentlichen Diskurs über den Einsatz von Technik.

 

Dominik Bösl

Institution/Firma: Festo AG & Co. KG

Derzeitige Funktion: Head of Project Unit Robotics

Dominik Bösl ist Informatiker, Zukunftsforscher, Innovator, Manager (Head of Robotics bei der Festo AG), Professor (an der Hochschule der Bayerischen Wirtschaft), Philosoph (Schwerpunkt Technologie-Ethik), Autor, ehrenamtlich engagiert (Gründer der Robotic & AI Governance Foundation, Chair der IEEE TechEthics Initiative, Vice President für Industrie-Aktivitäten der IEEE Robotics and Automation Society, …), Geek und Vater.

Seine Karriere begann 1999 bei Siemens, führte ihn für sieben Jahre zu Microsoft, dann acht Jahre ins Technologie- und Innovationsmanagement bei KUKA und schließlich im Januar 2019 zur Festo AG wo er den Geschäftsbereich Robotik verantwortet. Parallel lehrt er an verschiedenen Hochschulen und Universitäten und hält eine Professur an der HDBW für Digital Sciences, Automation and Leadership.

Leave a Comment